Big Sister Julie Wilson Shares Her Impact Story

Guest Blog Post by Julie WilsonSelena & Julie fundraiser

Growing up, I was blessed with a supportive home life and because of this I wanted to give back. I heard of Big Sister and its reputation for their positive work in the community and passion for mentoring. I have always been a big believer in the power of mentoring and had several mentors in my life that significantly influenced my choices. The process to become a Big Sister was very smooth and thorough. Big Sister staff members helped me think through who would be the right match for me.

The training was incredibly helpful and answered all my questions and potential concerns about becoming a Big Sister.

When I first started meeting weekly with my Little Sister Selena, she was ten years old. I quickly learned how much we had in common and was surprised at how much fun we could have together.

Selena and I have now been matched for six years and she will be sixteen this year. She was instrumental in helping me launch my non-profit by giving me the courage to leave a full-time job and enter the scary world of start-up! Selena encourages me to be the best person I can be. She is an old soul with a big heart and I am incredibly blessed to be matched with her.

Selena & JulieBy becoming a Big Sister you will gain a perspective and world view that could be life changing. You have the opportunity to make a significant difference in the life of a young girl which will impact the choices she makes as an adult.

Never underestimate the power of showing up consistently for someone you love.

Are you inspired by Big Sister Julie and Little Sister Selena’s story? You too can make an impact on a girl! There are more than 500 girls waiting to be matched with a Big Sister. Become a Big Sister today.

Posted on July 10, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

